I hate altruism.

“Altruism” by *force* is EXTORTION, i.e. the taking or use of someone’s time or property by force without their express and explicit consent.

You’ve read Ayn Rand extensively, I presume.

The UnsungScientist

I hate altruism.

I suppose I felt like I should start the first line of my first entry of my new blog with that statement. I feel like it needs to be said, and said over and over again. I hate altruism. I hate it so much, but why? I’m sure to explore all the many, many reasons why in future postings, but suffice it to say that I believe much of the world’s troubles and ridiculous ignorance comes from a worship of altruism, especially altruism by force. Given a proper, rational philosophy, altruism is wrong, it is anti-intellectual, and it is counterproductive.

But you can’t stand to think of it. You emote when you see the (almost always inaccurate) picture of the starving African child on television, and you cry out for a higher power to help when you see the elderly struggling to enter a building. You…

View original post 348 more words

Leave a Reply

